Gate Control Theory of Pain

My apologies for anyone who has taken any chronic pain classes, or done research and reading on your own, because I am sure some of you have heard of this.  I don’t mean to be redundant – but I think it might be useful for those who haven’t heard of this pain theory, or need a refresher 😉

I have a psychologist that is part of my medical “team” and we were speaking about this theory recently, and I wanted to share is with all of you…

Gate Control Theory of Pain

What the Gate Control Theory of Pain Tells Us:

According to the gate control theory of pain, pain signals that have originated in areas of injury or disease do NOT travel directly or automatically to the brain.  Rather, there exists within the spinal cord a gate mechanism which determines the degree to which pain signals are transmitted to the brain.  When the gate is wide open, more pain signals get through than when it is closed.  Generally, rather than being completely open or shut, the gate is open to varying degrees.

The Gate Control Theory of Pain

Factors Which Open the Pain Gate

Physical Factors

  • Extent of injury or trauma
  • Readiness of the nervous system to send pain signals
  • Inappropriate Activity level

Emotional Stress

  • Depression
  • Worry
  • Anxiety
  • Tension
  • Anger

Mental Factors

  • Focusing on the pain
  • Boredom due to minimal involvement in life activities
  • Maladaptive attitudes

Factors Which Close the Pain Gate

Physical Factors

  • Application of Heat or Ice
  • Massage
  • Medication
  • Appropriate activity level

Emotional Factors

  • Avoiding Excessive Emotions
  • Making time to focus on positive emotions (keep a gratitude journal for example)
  • Managing stress properly

Mental Factors

  • Distraction away from Pain
  • Increased Social Activities
  • Practicing Positive Attitude

Actions

  • Appropriate Exercise
  • Increased Positive Life Activities
  • Healthy Eating
  • Refraining from Unhealthy Habits
  • Having a communicative outlet to share thoughts and feelings

Most of the Factors that can potentially close the “Pain Gate” are basic self-care, but I will be the first one to say that I don’t always take care of myself the way I should.  I know it sounds like common sense, but sometimes when we are in the throes of agony, we don’t use common sense.  We spend so much time fighting the pain that it doesn’t occur to us to focus on eating habits, or a hobby or social activity that might be able to help us.

I know if was a good reminder for me to take the time to read over some information I have about the Gate Control Theory of Pain.  It is another reminder to me that pain managements is a WHOLE set of things, not just medication and treatment.

I hope you all are managing well today!!

5 thoughts on “Gate Control Theory of Pain

Add yours

  1. The Gate Control Theory of Pain makes perfect sense to me as it is a more holistic approach to pain management. The American Chronic Pain Associations 10 Steps from Pain Patient to Person utilizes some of these same techniques. (http://www.theacpa.org) The key, as you suggest, is to look at pain management as part of a wide range of things. And I agree, when the pain levels are high, it is difficult to follow through on things such as eating properly or “distractions” such as social activities.
    Thanks for sharing! I think it’s great that you have a pain management team working with you!

    Like

    1. Thanks! I am very lucky to have a team working with me, it isn’t the norm here, but I am taking part of a pilot project at my own Doctor’s office. It certainly helps to have different perspectives.

      Like

  2. Very interesting Jolene. I have a couple questions though:

    What does Maladaptive attitudes mean?

    How does one avoid excessive emotions?
    Also, I find that actually getting those emotions out (grieving etc.) helps and there’s an actual release of pain afterwards, at least for me.

    Like

    1. Hi Kathy, absolutely I can explain. “Maladaptive Attitudes” means attitudes that are negative and hinder healing. For example “I am NEVER going to feel better”. or “This will never get better” or “This pain in my back is KILLING me”… It has been proven in studies that people who try to change their perspective, and turn those maladaptive attitudes into something more positive that it helps with the perception of pain. Something like “I feel horrible today, but I am going to get through this, and this too shall pass” is a better attitude to have.
      Also avoiding excessive emotion might not be what you think… It is definitely a positive thing to experience emotion, and not bottle things up and hold things in. However, there are some emotions that impede healing… be angry, but don’t RAGE.. that would be excessive. Let yourself feel the feeling, but if it takes you to the next level then it can actually make our pain worse. Grieve over a loss, but when the grief turns into depression, the depression can effect your pain. It just means to be cognizant of your emotion, and to try to keep those emotions in check, and not to let them overtake you.
      I hope this helps!
      HUGS kathy!

      Like

  3. Hello. I work with kids and adults who have intellectual disabilities. The Gate control theory was mentioned at a conference, and I am having a hard time finding references for it to deepen my understanding. Do you have links, books, or any resource really explaining this information? I would really appreciate any help. This entry does a great job summarizing what I had been taught as well, but I am struggling with finding resources to point people too.

    Thanks!

    Amanda

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑