Cymbalta significantly reduces chronic low back pain

Cymbalta reduces chronic lower back pain

Just passing along some info that might be of interest to the readers who suffer from chronic pain. In new clinical studies Cymbalta, a FDA approved drug for the treatment of Fibromyalgia, has been proven to reduce chronic lower back pain.  In a 12-week study patients that took 60mg of this drug daily had significant improvement of their pain symptoms.

I will remind you I am NOT a Doctor 😉  So I cannot give anyone medical advice, but I thought I would pass this information along to you so that you can discuss your drug options with your primary care physician.  Here are a few links discussing this new study:

PR Newswire

Drug Store News

If you are someone who suffers from Fibromyalgia, and are on Cymbalta, I’d love to hear whether this medication has helped your lower back pain or not.  Please leave a comment!!

If you are someone who has had difficulty treating your lower back pain, you may want to research Cymbalta at length, and then go speak to your Doctor about treatment possibilities.

Gentle Hugs!  TGIF!

4 thoughts on “Cymbalta significantly reduces chronic low back pain

Add yours

  1. Hi,
    About the Cymbalta……My doctor told me It’s a sleeping aid or sleeping pill…which is good if you are having trouble getting to sleep at night but isnt’ going to cure lower back pain. Though everyone is different and what might work for one might not work for another.
    She put me on Lyrica ( which is a nerve blocker ) which is made for Fibromyalgia Sufferers……and it does help to the point that someone can touch me now as before it hurt to be touch in any form. It isn’t a cure so to speak but is does help with all the tenderness one might be experiencing. ( all those trigger points ). I find that Lyrica hasn’t helped with the severe lower back pain . I still get shooting pains through my hips, legs, ect, but it is nice now that I can be hugged and not cry, because I’m taking the Lyrica!
    So what ever works for each individual, just wanted to let you know what I have found to work somewhat FOR ME!
    I hope everone who suffers finds something that works for them as I know how extremely difficult it is to get through your day without a little help!

    May you all have a less painful day!

    Happy Thought to all!
    Starlene :0)

    Like

  2. I have not heard Cymbalta being referred to as a sleeping aid. It is actually an anti-depressant medication and is in the SNRI family. I know that it is believed to increase serotonin and norepinephrine activity in the brain and spinal cord, which somehow lessens pain. I think its akin to how tricyclic antidepressants such as Nortriptyline are prescribed for Chronic Pain as well.
    Thanks so much for sharing your experience! I hope that it helps another reader…. I think it is really important for us Chronics to share our personal experiences. I think it helps us be informed when we advocate for ourselves with our Physicians!
    Have a fantastic weekend!!
    Jolene

    Like

    1. thanks so much Wendy! I sure hope that you won’t mind if I share the link you provided, so other readers can be informed as well! Cymbalta has been a drug that has really scared me. I haven’t tried it yet, but there has been talk about starting that one or trying Lyrica…
      It frustrates me to no end that the “treatment” options for people like us are never really great, are they?
      I have experience going through MAJOR discontinuation syndrome with another medication, and it was some of the most horrible symptoms I have ever experienced!!
      I am definitely looking into this more before I make an educated decision as to if this drug is an option for me. I hope others do the same!
      HUGS! THANK YOU!!
      Jolene

      Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑